Skip Navigation
Skip to contents
  • HOME
  • Subspecialty Societies
  • Subspecialty Societies

Subspecialty Societies

Subspecialty Societies

Korean Society for the Advancement of Spine Surgery
Introduction Korean Society for the Advancement of Spine Surgery (KOSASS) is a scientific and educational society organized to discuss and assess existing strategies and innovative ideas in the clinical and basic sciences related to spine surgery and to enhance patient care. KOSASS is a special interest group of medical and associated specialists devoted to the field of clinical and structural amelioration and restoration of the joints of the spinal column. The society’s focus is on restoration, or replacement and potential return to normal function lost by degenerative conditions of spinal joints. KOSASS was founded on 11th, February, 2004 with the leadership of co-founding president,Professor Chong-Suh. Lee, Samsung Medical Center and Professor Chun-Kun Park, Catholic University. With the name modification adopted in 2009 as the ISASS (International Society for the Advancement of Spine Surgery), which is the backbone society of KOSASS, has changed their name, the formerly titled Spine Arthroplasty Society was changed to ISASS - TheSociety for the Advancement of Spine Surgery and in 2010, the membership will vote to officially change the name of the Society to KOSASS ? The Korean Society for the Advancement of Spine Surgery. This evolution allows KOSASS to continue to morph over time as new science is uncovered and new innovations are accepted. The change positions KOSASS to avoid the complexities of being tied to one solution. In addition, KOSASS is taking a more pro-active political role for new spine procedures worldwide, with hopes to expedite acceptance of the latest innovations in spine surgery by both the insurance industry and government alike. Acting politically brings its own challenges, as it is difficult to navigate beyond many different geographical borders in terms of government rules and financial and insurance limitations. Currently, Professor Whoan-Jeang Kim (Eulgi University) and Professor Hyun-Chul Shin (Samsung Medical Center) are now serving as a co-President, Professor Seok Woo Kim (Hallym University) serves as a Secretary General.

2017 President : Whoan Jeang Kim

Secretary General : Seok Woo Kim

Contact Person to Contact
Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, Hallym University Sacred Heart Hospital, college of medicine, 22, Gwanpyeong-ro 170beon-gil, Dongan-gu, Anyang-si, Gyeonggi-do, South Korea #14068 Tel : +82-31-380-6000, Fax : +82-31-380-6008, E-mail :